...and all watched over by
machines of loving grace
for sextet. 8'

performed by Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen under Pascal Rophé, New Music Players, and Ensemble Isis under John Traill.

The piece takes both its name and inspiration from the poem by Richard Brautigan and the documentary series by Adam Curtis. Both works consider the role of computers in the modern world and speculate as to how people have and will function with ‘machines’ taking an ever-greater role in society. If nothing else, the composition is a signpost for these works, which have in turn acted as a creative springboard for my own.

interlude one

interlude two

movement four

recordings by Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen.